Federal Election 2015: Thérèse-De Blainville riding results

Written by admin on 26/07/2019 Categories: 苏州美甲纹绣培训

Summary: A new riding in the northern suburbs to the north of Laval, Alan Giguère seeks re-election in Thérèse-De Blainville.

Boundaries: The riding contains the towns of Sainte-Thérèse, Lorraine, Blainville and Bois-des-Filion in the Thérèse-De Blainville Regional County Municipality. Prior to redistribution, the northern half of the riding was part of Terrebonne-Blainville, while the southern half was part of Marc-Aurèle-Fortin.


Last Election: This seat is created from Terrebonne-Blainville (which elected NDP MP Charmaine Borg by 18.5 per cent in 2011) and Marc-Aurèle-Fortin (which elected NDP MP Alan Giguère by 23.3 per cent in 2011). Giguère is running here.

Had this riding existed in the last election, the NDP would have taken it by 23.2 per cent more votes than the BQ (based on polling results).

History: Though this is the first election specifically for this area, ridings in this region have generally followed a similar pattern to many Quebec electoral districts outside the Island of Montreal—they elected BQ candidates from 1993 to 2011, PC candidates in 1984 and 1988, and Liberal candidates for many decades prior to that.

Demographics: The average income is $44,235, tenth highest in the province.


Conservative: Manuel Puga, President of the Hotel Le Mirage Blainville

NDP: Alan Giguère, MP since 2011

Liberal: Ramez Ayoub, mayor of Lorraine since 2009

Green: Andrew Carkner, engineer

Bloc Québécois: Alain Marginean, former administrator at Collège Lionel-Groulx

Libertarian: Daniel Guindon

Comments Off on Federal Election 2015: Thérèse-De Blainville riding results